Ed’s Weblog

…now my real blog

Suggestions welcome

Posted by Ed on March 7, 2003

The other day I received a letter from my landlord, who was most upset to hear that my flat did not satisfy the fire-safety regulations. I was also quite upset initially, until I read the details of the proposed changes, when I became merely amused. It seems they are planning to install a stepladder from the floor to the windowsill (about 1.5m) so that I can climb out of the window in the event of a fire. That’s it. After that I’m on my own. They make no mention of what I am supposed to do after using the stepladder. The other side of the window, where there is no ladder, is about 30m above the ground.

Next week I’m going to apply to the council for a parachute.

Leave a Reply

 
