Ed’s Weblog

…now my real blog

Jam Revival

Posted by Ed on February 29, 2004

The Jam have been enjoying something of a revival of late, in my house. Coming right on the heels of punk at the end of the seventies, they were the angry young men of their time, but with a maturity that was missing from most punk bands. Their music is full of energy, from the menacing “Down in the Tube Station at Midnight”,

Hating, waiting
“Hey boy” they shout – “have you got any money?”
And I said – “I’ve a little money and a take away curry,
I’m on my way home to my wife.
She’ll be lining up the cutlery,
You know she’s expecting me
Polishing the glasses and pulling out the cork”

to the vitriolic “Eton Rifles”, about fighting between Eton school pupils and right-to-work marchers,

Thought you were smart when you took them on,
But you didn’t take a peep in their artillery room.
All that rugby puts hairs on your chest.
What chance have you got against a tie and a crest?

and an undeniable Britishness. If you don’t know them, or its been too long since you heard them, check them out. Definitely worth your trouble.

Leave a Reply

 
