Ed’s Weblog

…now my real blog

WordPress as CMS

Posted by Ed on February 22, 2005

Having convinced Charl that a wiki as a website was a Good Thing, I’ve decided to try something else. The new WordPress version I’ve just installed has a new Pages feature which allows me to create static pages outside of the blog content. So that’s what I’ve done. It took me about half an hour to move the content over from the wiki, and that’s more or less it. The only thing I can’t resolve (and this has always been a problem) is why it can’t find the database when I remove the www from the URL (every instance I can find in the config). I’ll get back to you on that one.

2 Responses to “WordPress as CMS”

  1. It’s looking really slick Ed! Does it maintain as easily as a Wiki though, hmmm? 🙂

  2. Ed said

    Thanks, Charl. And it’s a piece of cake to maintain! At least, as long as the number of pages doesn’t get too high. But I really only had about half a dozen pages on the wiki, so that wasn’t a problem.

    Don’t get me wrong, I still think wiki’s are great. We have one for our lab at work, and it’s got about 200 pages now!

Leave a Reply

 
