Ed’s Weblog

…now my real blog

Leopard Upgrade Sharks

Posted by Ed on November 27, 2007

Decided to upgrade my OS X install to Leopard today as I’d heard lots of good things about it. It all went fine and installed in a little over an hour. At the start of the install I was asked to choose a file system: case-insensitive or case-sensitive, both journaled. I chose the latter. Why wouldn’t I? I’ve been using case-sensitive Linux for years and I couldn’t see any reason not to. Obviously ‘Files’ and ‘files’ are different.

Then I tried to reinstall my apps. Most of them were fine, until I got to Adobe Photoshop. Tried to run it, “File system not supported”. What? A bit of Googling led to this:

You cannot install Adobe Creative Suite 3 to a volume that uses a case-sensitive file system, such as HSFX or UFS. Adobe Creative Suite 3 installation is supported on volumes using HFSJ or HFS+ file systems.

Stupid bastards! So now I have the choice of reformatting my disk and reinstalling my OS, or not using Adobe CS products. How hard can it be to tell the difference between Photoshop and photoshop? My Epson scanner software doesn’t work either.

Extremely pissed off.

[xkcd sharks cartoon]

2 Responses to “Leopard Upgrade Sharks”

  1. I’ll keep this in mind if I ever manage to convince somebody to buy me a macbook pro. Do you know what the factory-installed OSX Leotard (he he) case sensitivity default is?

  2. I think the default is case-insensitive. I can’t imagine them shipping something that won’t run Photoshop or in fact any of the Creative Suite apps (or even Photoshop Elements). I think I’ll have to start again :-(.

Leave a Reply

 
